Young classical musos get a moment to shine

Sakhile Humbane, a fourth-year UCT student , was the 2015 winner of the National Youth Music Competition.

Sixteen classical musicians between the ages of 14 and 19 have made it to final rounds of the National Youth Music Competition. Auditions were done throughout South Africa.

The final demanding sessions of the competition run this week at Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre in Parow with the winning participants performing at a prestigious concert with the Cape Philharmonic Orchestra on Saturday October 15, at 7.30 pm. The competition is celebrating 33 years.

Positioned as the third largest music competition for classical musicians in the country, it caters for emerging musicians who are below the age limit for the UNISA International Music Competition and the ATKV Muziq competition.

The selected 16 contestants performing in five categories, piano, strings, wind, brass and other (percussion, harp, marimba, etc) will all take part in the first two rounds. During these two rounds, each competitor must play four works from at least three different style periods. One of the works must be a movement from a classical or romantic sonata. A later style period is allowed for brass instruments and saxophone.

Twelve contestants are selected for the third round. Each contestant will play a 20-minute recital of contrasting works, as well as a movement from a concerto; or a single work for the chosen instrument; or two movements from a concerto; or a complete concerto with piano accompaniment.

After many months of hard work, the top six contestants are chosen to perform with the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra at a gala concert under the baton of Brandon Phillips. This will be followed by a closing ceremony and announcement of prize winners.

Cash and other prizes totalling more than R150 000, as well as gold, silver and bronze medals, will be awarded. The adjudicators include: Dr Tinus Botha (piano), David Earl (piano), Professor Ella Fourie (piano), Prof Franklin Larey (piano), Marian Lewin (cello), Michael Maas (chairman of the National Youth Music Foundation), Vaughan Pietersen, Kutlwano Masote (violin), and Dr Becky Steltzner (clarinet).

Rounds are open to the public today, Thursday October 13, from 10am to 12.20pm and 2pm to 5pm. Entry is free for these rounds.

Tickets to the final round cost R150 each. Block bookings of 10 or more get a 10 percent discount and pensioners, students and pupils pay R40. Book through Computicket.